Criminal Traffic Offense Frequently Asked Questions

8 FAQs where found , 8 in this page

What can happen if I am driving with a suspended license Florida?

If you are caught driving with a suspended license in Miami you will be subject to a maximum of 60 days in prison and a $500 fine; depending on how serious the violation was. The first two times this happens it is classified as a misdemeanor; however, the third time and after it is classified as a felony and the punishment is harsher (up to 5 years in prison and up to $5000 in fines) Learn More

How long does a drivers license suspension last?

Once an individual has had 3 or more convictions within 5 years, he/she is considered a habitual offender and will lose their license for 5 years. Learn More

How can I get a restricted license?

The state of Florida offers a conditional license, also known as hardship license. This type of license will allow you to drive to work and run necessary errands during the allowed time of the day. There are several steps to get this kind of license. You will need to petition the court in Florida for this license and complete any requirements set by the court, including driving courses, DUI classes, and so on. Learn More

I've received a letter from Tallahassee; what do I do?

Most likely if you receive a letter from Tallahassee it will contain information explaining how to resolve your suspension or letting you know that your license will be suspended on a given date. In some cases, if you had an accident you might get a letter saying that you must take a traffic collision course. You should follow any directions provided in the letter in addition to contacting a good traffic lawyer to ensure you regain your driving privileges as soon as possible. Learn More

Where can I reinstate my driver license?

If you had a license suspension due to non-compliance with a traffic citation in Miami, once you have complied with the citation you may visit any Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle Miami Dade County's Clerk Office locations to get it reinstated. If you have any questions regarding your case you can contact our attorneys at Gallardo Law Firm and they will assist you. Learn More

Where can I request a hardship driver license?

To request a hardship license you can go personally to the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles to obtain more information and you should also contact an attorney to assist you in requesting it. Here at Gallardo we have experience obtaining this type of license for our clients. Learn More

Are the police legally allowed to search my car?

A number of conditions have to be met in order for them to do so. A valid reason or your permission is needed; however, cars dont have as many protections against search as, for example, a home. A good example of this is when the police stop you for a routine traffic offense and the officer asks your permission to search in your car. You dont have to consent and clearly but respectfully tell them so. When you give them permission, the results of the search can be used in court. Nevertheless, if you are asked to step out of the car, you and the passengers need to do so. Learn More

Does federal law prohibit distracted driving?

Using cell phones while driving is forbidden by federal law and this is valid for all commercial drivers. However, in Florida the texting law is considered a secondary law, which means you can only be issued a ticket if there is some other violation with it such as running a red light while texting, etc. This violation is punished as a non-moving violation yet the driver will be penalized six points if a crash occurs. Learn More