Accidents can happen to anyone, anywhere, and at any time. You might be at work, minding your own business and suddenly BAM! You find yourself injured, unable to work, and stuck with large, confusing medical bills. What do you do now? How do you protect yourself? We understand that navigating workers comp issues can be confusing and difficult, especially when you’re injured and worried about how your bills will be paid. While your future may seem like it is up in the air, the team of seasoned employment attorneys at the Gallardo Law Firms offers up some tips to consider:
- Report the injury to your employer IMMEDIATELY. In Florida you have a maximum of 30 days to notify your employer who in turn should open the claim with their insurance company.
- Who pays my medical bills, am I responsible? No, your medical provider should submit their bills directly to your employer’s insurance.
- Will I be paid, and if so how much and when? In most cases you will be paid a benefit check 66 2/3% of your average weekly pay. Your first check should arrive within 21 day after the date you first reported your injury to your employer.
- What if my employer has denied compensation or refuses to file the claim? The decision to seek legal counsel is yours. You have two years to file a petition for benefits, depending on the details of the dispute.
Labor laws define your rights as well as the rights of the employers. Therefore, several factors may work against you during your claim. Florida’s worker’s compensation laws favor the employer in many ways and can be difficult to comprehend. Hiring an experienced employment attorney to help you understand your rights, determine an appropriate course of action based on your specific case, and fight on your behalf may make all the difference in the outcome. The Gallardo Law Firm proudly represents those injured on the job and fights for benefits on their behalf.